Thursday, January 23, 2014

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan


 
Published: January 28th, 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Pages: 384
Copy: Edelweis
Summary: Goodreads

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.



We featured this book yesterday as Christinabean's WoW, but I'm not sure that I told her I had an advance copy of it, lucky me.  Uninvited was a very frightening book for me, not necessarily for the actual story itself, but more because the premise of the story is so entirely possible that it gave me the heebee geebees.

Testing for gene markers is something that we are already doing, so testing for the HTS (Homicidal Tendency Syndrome) gene was just so plausible it was scary.  The whole idea that we could be punishing members of society for something we think they 'might' do - is horrifying to me.

That said, I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the characters.  Davy was easy to relate to, even though she is a musical prodigy, and her intense confusion and resentment of her circumstances rang true.  Her interaction with and attraction to Sean was not too overdone and the plot moved along at a fast clip.  It really was quite a quick read, but for me the great characters and great action made it worthwhile.  I have to add that the fact it is being promoted as a duology is also an appealing factor - I'll only have to wait for one more book, not two.

An Aplogogy

Just a quick note to apologise for my sad lack of reviews lately.  My husband has just undergone major surgery and is virtually bedridden for the next few weeks.  What with that and work, I'm finding it a little challenging to keep up with my reviews.  I'll do my best to get caught up soon, but if they are a little short on content (see above) or missing entirely for a while, please forgive me.

2 comments:

  1. It is horrifying. It makes me uncomfortable. I just started it last night, but I'm enjoying it so far, despite the discomfort.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am glad to see that you enjoyed this book, I found it a bit lacking but it was okay. Good review. :)

    ReplyDelete

There was an error in this gadget