Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Let's Hear it for the Boys - V is for Villain by Peter Moore




Published: May 20th, 2014
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Pages: 336
Copy: Publisher through Edelweiss
Summary: Goodreads
 
 
Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The Avengers, Ironman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.


I have read several books in the last little while that have had a superhero theme, Brandon Sanderson's Steelheart is the first that comes to mind, and they have all been lots of fun, with the good guys always winning in the end.  What made V is for Villain stand out from the rest was the fact that it is written about the bad guys.  Well about the guys who don't agree with what the good guys are doing.  Not exactly bad - yet anyway, but questioning whether everything the good guys do is actually 'good'

I loved the characters in this book, Brad and Layla especially, mainly because they questioned.  They are both basically genius's and are not willing to take things at face value.  They actually think for themselves and come to the conclusion that bad can be good too.  There are some wonderful twists to this complex and entertaining storyline and there are some really spectacularly twisted bad guys to sink your teeth into. But not everything is exactly as it seems and the kids have to use every bit of their spectacular brain power and superpowers to get them out of harms way.

There should be enough action to keep fans of this type of novel very happy and leave them with a little to think about.  I already have several people I can think of to recommend this to.  Lots of fun.


No comments:

Post a Comment

There was an error in this gadget