Thursday, September 24, 2015

Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike


Published: April 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 340
Copy Provided by: Borrowed
Summary: Goodreads

Summary: 
The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This supernatural young adult novel is perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noël, Richelle Mead, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern day Oracles are told to fight their visions––to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.
 

Review:

So I loved Aprilynne Pike's Wings series.  She has a great writing style and I was able to identify with ALL of her characters.  If you enjoy the writings of Kimberly Derting and Kelley Armstrong, you would enjoy Aprilynne Pike as well.  I have to be honest though, Sleep No More has been lower on my reading TBR list because of the cover.  I hate to say that but it is true.....I REALLY don't like the cover and it didn't motivate me to want to pick up the book so it has been sitting in my pile for the past year.  Sorry Ms. Pike  :(

So here are my thoughts on the novel....there were a lot of abstract ideas in this novel that I found it hard to wrap my head around.  Although I had compassion for Charlotte and her situation, I found that she really flipped back and forth between trusting her aunt and trusting a stranger who seemed to have a few answers.  It bothered me that she didn't discuss her premonitions and how frequent they were with her aunt.  Instead, by seeking information on her own, she was blind to who she could really rely on and underestimated how important her powers were to other people.


The concept of an oracle was interesting to me and how someone else was able to "enter her mind" was as well.  I don't think I have read a novel with this idea and I would like to see more with this kind of special ability.  We see plenty of vampires, demon hunters and zombies but I haven't seen Oracles before this.  YA needs a new hero.  :)


Sleep of Death is book #2 of this series and I don't think I will continue with it. While it was entertaining for a while, I'm afraid the concept did not hold my interest long enough to want to continue with the Charlotte's character on her journey into discovering her Oracle powers.  The ending of this novel didn't feel satisfying to me and I just didn't feel invested in the plot.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

There was an error in this gadget